Random People Adding You On Snapchat? 5 Ways to Stop It

The random people who keep adding you on Snapchat are usually scammers, bots or marketers who want to sell you something. They can be quite annoying, but fortunately it’s pretty easy to stop receiving these spam friend requests.

To stop random people adding you on Snapchat, you must deactivate the Quick Add feature and hide your phone number so it won’t appear in search. To deactivate Quick Add, go to Privacy Controls and Disable “Show me in Quick Add”. To hide your phone number, go to Settings, then Mobile Number and deactivate “Let others find me using my mobile number”.

These two settings alone should be enough to stop most of the random spam requests you’re receiving. Unfortunately, it won’t all of these since bots and spammers are a problem for every social network

Besides those two settings, there are a few other things you can do to cut down on the number of spam friend requests. 

Turn off Quick Add

Quick Add is a Snapchat feature that allows you to add friends on Snapchat. The people you see on Quick Add are usually your phone contacts, or contacts of your contacts (meaning “friends of friends”).

The problem with Quick Add is that random people can add you through Quick Add, simply because they are friends with your friends.

Because of this, spammers and bots love Quick Add. They only need to add a few contacts to their Snapchat account, and then they can branch out and send more and more spam friend requests through Quick Add.

Fortunately, there is a setting you can use to remove your profile from Quick Add.

Doing so will make your account disappear from other Snapchat users’ Quick Add list, such as the one below.

Here’s how to stop strangers from adding you on Snapchat through Quick Add:

  1. Open your Snapchat profile.
  2. In the top right, click the Settings button (should like a gear).
  3. Scroll down to Privacy Controls.
  4. Click “See Me in Quick Add”.
  5. Disable “Show me in Quick Add”.
Tap “See me in Quick Add”
Next, disable “Show me in Quick Add”

Stop others from adding you through your phone number

Another way to stop strangers and randoms from adding you on Snapchat is to prevent them from finding you through your phone number.

Whenever you create a Snapchat account, the app will attach your phone number to your username.

This means other Snapchat users can find you either by typing in your username or your phone number.

Fortunately, Snapchat allows you to hide your phone number for other users so it won’t appear in search results and contact suggestions.

Here’s how to stop random people from adding you on Snapchat through your phone number:

  1. Open your Snapchat profile.
  2. In the top right, click the Settings button (the gear icon).
  3. Tap on “Mobile Number”.
  4. Deactivate “Let others find me using my mobile number”

After you deactivate this, other Snapchat users won’t able to add you through a phone number, and will instead have to use a link or your exact username.

Remove contact syncing on Snapchat

Another privacy feature you can use to stop invites from strangers on Snapchat is to stop phone contact syncing and remove your phone contacts from Snapchat.

Whenever you create a Snapchat account, Snapchat will automatically scan your contacts and upload them to Snapchat.

However, Snapchat also has a feature that allows you to stop syncing contacts to the app and remove your contacts from Snapchat.

Here’s how stop Snapchat from reading your contacts:

  1. Open your Snapchat profile.
  2. In the top right, click the Settings button (the gear icon).
  3. Scroll to the bottom and click on “Contact Syncing”.
  4. Disable “Share Contacts with Snapchat”.
  5. Click on “Remove Synced Contacts from Snapchat”.

Periodically reactivate these settings

Normally, once you activate the privacy settings above, they should remain activated permanently. 

However, it’s possible that update to your Snapchat app might sometimes “accidentally” reactivate those settings. 

For this reason, we advise periodically checking those settings and reactivating them to avoid having strangers add you. 

Change your Snapchat username

Another reason strangers might often add you on Snapchat is because your profile name is too common and easy to search for.

If your Snapchat username uses common words or names, then it’s possible spammers are using Snapchat’s search function to uncover hundreds, maybe thousands, of Snapchat accounts.

After finding these accounts through a Snapchat search, spammers will send add requests to everyone in the search results, hoping to find a gullible victim they can scam.  

If you think your Snapchat username is too easy to search and find, then consider changing it.

Changing your username won’t affect your account in any way. All your contacts, score streaks and conversations will remain intact.

The only thing that will change is that others will have to use your new username to find you.

Do keep in mind, however, that you can only change your username once a year.

Here are the steps required to change your Snapchat username:

  1. Open your Snapchat profile.
  2. In the top right, click the Settings button (the gear icon).
  3. Tap on “Username”.
  4. Tap on “Change Username”

Now choose a distinctive username, that doesn’t use common words or names that spammers and scammers usually type in Snapchat’s search function.

Stop posting your Snapchat account on social media

Finally, remove links to your Snapchat account from other social media sites such as Instagram or Tinder descriptions.

Doing so will prevent strangers from knowing what your Snapchat username, and also stops bots and scrappers from finding it.

If you think your Snapchat account is already present in many scammer databases, then consider changing your username too. 

This should effectively remove your account from the databases of scammers and spammers, since they’ll keep adding your old username instead of the new one.

Paul Bonea
Scroll to Top
Scroll to Top